What goofball engineer did this one??

FoutsNC

So, I go to connect my phone charger to my 12V outlet and nothing happens.  I figure it's gotta be my charger since nothing had ever been plugged into the outlet.  I then grab my wife's charger, and nothing...  No big deal, it's gotta be just a fuse since I have never used that 12V outlet before.  So lets take a look....

I reach down on the driver's side to the "usual" fuse panel location to find a second OBD port.  Very nifty, but not what I am looking for.  After a little more searching, I figured it was time for the owners manual.  I remembered the images, but I didn't remember the notation of the location.

So I am sitting in the car with my manual.  I turn to the page for the fuse panel and it states that it is located below the glove box.  I glance over and notice that there's not a whole lot of room over there, but that's what it says.  I poke my head down there and take a look.  Nothing... I don't see a panel, or anything, just some black felt-like material covering the bottom of the fuse box.  It couldn't be under that, or could it.  So I strain my neck a bit further and pull the felt-like material to the side so that I can see behind it.  You've gotta be frickin' (PG version) kidding me!!!   :censored:

At this point, I am in the oddest position in the passenger's seat with my legs contorted with a flashlight underneath the glovebox and I can barely see the bottom of the fuse panel up against the firewall!  A moment of joy comes over me, until I try and figure out how I am going to pull a fuse out to check from this position and how exactly this felt-like material should be removed.  I couldn't even tell what the numbers were on the panel.