Tire leaks Air

borgward

We just took our 2013 CMax hybrid in for "battery ocassionally looses charge". Also took care of the air bag recall. We told them the left rear tire does not hold pressure. Never has. The low pressure indicator does not come on until pressure goes down too low. 25 PSI. That's too low! They checked the tire for leaks in a water bath while rotating the tires. Tire is still not staying inflated. I suspect the leak is thru the cast wheel itself. Probably has a tiny crack, or a porous spot that the air is leaking out thru. This used to be a problem with "Mag wheels". Anybody else having the same problem?

If they also submerged the wheel as they rotated the tire, that would have shown a leak. As an art metal caster, I've read a little on metallurgy and I'm not an expert by any means, but if there was a defect, crack or inclusion in the casting that allowed air under pressure to pass through, the casting will eventually fail. Try striking the wheel lightly and carefully with a metal object, if there's a crack, it will make a different sound.

Borg what did the dealer say? Did they offer to fix/replace tire or wheel if it's under warranty?

Tim, unless they knew what a good one sounds like your advice won't help much as they have nothing to compare it with unless they take off one of the other wheels and do the same...

Is that what you meant?

I agree you don't want a wheel to crack/fail at hwy speed and have an accident.

Edited by salsaguy

Borg what did the dealer say? Did they offer to fix/replace tire or wheel if it's under warranty?

Tim, unless they knew what a good one sounds like your advice won't help much as they have nothing to compare it with unless they take off one of the other wheels and do the same...

Is that what you meant?

I agree you don't want a wheel to crack/fail at hwy speed and have an accident.