Interference with Key Fob and heavy Equipment??

Hi all, newbie here.

I bought my 2013 C-MAX Hybrid used about a month ago.  Everything is going great... until this morning.  Came to work, parked the car.  Was told I need to move it because they need to remove stumps where I was parked.  They were working a little ways down from me with a (I assume it's called a Stump Remover) loud and large piece of heavy equipment.   I get in to start and nothing happens.  I follow the manual and put my 3 button key fob against the steering wheel and after a couple of tries, it starts!   But.... I can't get into drive!  None of the gears work.  I keep going backwards until I am at the curb.   I did see one error screen about my parking assist wasn't working other than that the panel was normal.   I ended up turning it off.  Tried again, got it started and was finally able to move forward and park across the way.   But again, once I stopped and turned it off, the panel was dead again.  I couldn't lock the car up or anything.   The manual did say that interference (like metal and cell phones) can cause the vehicle not to start.   But what about stump removers??  LOL    I will test it again after they leave, but it was really freaking me out.   Has anyone else had this happen?

Interference is certainly a possibility but I'd check the keyfob battery first thing.  You didn't have an issue getting into the car?  Or was it unlocked?

Battery is a CR2032 type.   You might get lucky and find one at work. 

Edited by fotomoto

Thank you for your reply! I went out after they left and it was not the interference.  But the FOB still didn't work.  You were right!  I found a spare battery here at work. Changed it but, it's still not working.  It won't come on unless I put the fob against the steering wheel.  It seems to work, then not work.  I was able to lock the car, and then I couldn't.   guess I'll be calling the dealership.  Thanks for your help.  this sucks  :(