What kind of battery charger should I buy

theseeleys

I've got a 2013 cmax with its 4th dead battery in less than a year!  I'm apoplectic, and my local Ford dealer (who has the cmax again for his 4th attempt to fix the problem permanently) is well aware how mad I am!

But I'm also trying to learn, and this board is very helpful.  I've seen several msgs saying that buying my own battery charger and plugging it in at night might be one "fix".  Certianly not the permanent fix I'm entitled to, but hey!  If Ford can't solve the problem and this might, I'll think about it!

My immediate problem now is: I'm not an auto techie at all!  So when I googled on auto battery charger I got overwhelmed by the choices.

Can someone please give me some advice on the kinds of things I should consider?  Size, voltage, type, any particular manufacturers to avoid or use, etc?

Thx.

AFAIK, no one has demonstrated that a battery charger prevents a no start condition.  If you want to go through the hassle of connecting and disconnecting a charger everyday make sure you get a "float charger / smart charger" not a "trickle" charger.  A float charger will maintain the battery at full charge while a trickle charger can overcharge a battery since it won't have the circuitry to reduce charging current which is not good for battery life.  Since we don't know what the current draw is overnight that depletes the charge of the battery such that the battery won't start the car in the morning, one probably should buy a smart charger capable of putting out at least 10 A or higher (not cheap).  Even 10 A may not be enough to prevent discharge of the battery overnight if the current drain on the 12 V battery is significant.