Service Tire Mobility Kit

AllisonM84

I just got an error message telling me to "Service My Tire Mobility Kit"

I have never used it before, in fact I didn't even know I had it. Is this something I need to take it into the dealer to get taken care of?

It is designed to make sure the fix-it flat repair can is OK. Personally, I recommend getting an inexpensive tire repair kit (plugs), and using that along with the inflator. Cost me around 10 bucks total. Be sure and include small pliers to remove nails, etc.

Those fix-it cans are terrible on the rims and the TPMS sensors.

I believe there is a setting in the myview or on the display on selecting the Tire Mobility Kit service interval. 1,2,3 years, probably so the fluid fix stuff doesn't go bad to get it replaced. Not sure how long the stuff lasts if you don't use it. 

The dealer has to replace the canister if you use it to fix your tires, or after so many years?  you may have to replace the TPMS sensor in the tire too once you use the fix it foam. As he stated, get a tire repair kit with plugs, etc....just in case.

Edited by WNY

• 2 years later...
  • 2 months later...

Just had the "Service Tire Mobility Kit " warning come up and got rid of it by going to settings, vehicle, tire mobility kit and change the interval to 4 yrs. :)

Paul

Just got this at 6 yrs, 3 months and 94,000 miles for the first time I can recall.  I knew I would find the answer here to make this message go away.

• 1 month later...

Regarding the advice to carry a plug kit/pliers and skip the sealer: not everyone has the ability to do the work on the side of the road.

I've just recently used the sealant on a 24k mile used tire (Nissan Leaf) and it worked exactly as advertised. Yes, follow-up was inconvenient, to take the car to a tire shop, remove the tire from the rim, flush out the water-base sealant, plug/patch from the inside, remount, balance tire. The TPMS wasn't affected by the sealant.