How to Improve Winter MPG's

ptjones

Now that temperatures are going down for Newbies you may have noticed your MPG's go down also.  You can expect 2 MPG drop for each 10*F drop in temperature.  So a temp drop from 70*F to 40*F would be a drop of 6 mpg.

cmax grill cover1

Here is what you can do to to get some of that back without spending a lot of money.

1. Use some kind of Grill blocking method, Grill Covers, foam insulation or tape. Center Grill opening should be covered all year around, I have been using Grill Covers for 4 1/2 years/ 150K mi. now.  I only remove the lower Grill Cover when going on long uphill grades.            Worth 2-4 mpg's

tape2

Grill Cover using Clear Packing Tape 

C Max Grill Cover Installation Instructions 11 13 Page 3 Of 4

Grill Cover using Velcro attachments LEXAN Plastic

2. Use 50 PSI in your tires, not much difference in ride quality, but it improves mpg's and your tires wear great. I got 64k mi. on first and second set. Worth up to 1mpg.

3.  Oil Pan Heater speeds up ICE heating and heat available for the car heater. The only Oil Pan Heater I could find small enough to fit the bottom of oil pan was a Wolverine Model 9 Oil Pan Heater which you can get on eBay.  You can put one on the back of the block to have a total of 250 Watts, but enough to raise WT by 40-50*F.  Worth about 2-5 mpg on short trips and you have heat almost immediately. YA! :yahoo: BTW I put a block heater in mine which adds about 400watts and 65*F increase in temp which is great, but it is very hard to install. :sad:

Oil Pan Heater

Model 9 OPH

4. Park facing the Sun which will keep ICE and inside of car warmer. If you can use seat warmers instead of heater.  Worth 1-4 mpg.  Make trips during the warmest time of the day.  These are kind of obvious ideas, but they are worth mentioning. 

5.  Premium Gas is worth 2 mpg in my experience, but may not be worth the additional cost. That is what I use.  :)