AAA: Not All Gasoline Created Equal

plus 3 golfer

There have been discussions in the past on quality of gas, specifically Top-Tier gas vs non Top-Tier gas. Here's AAA recent take:

“AAA was surprised to learn the extent to which detergent additives impact gasoline quality,” revealed John Nielsen, AAA’s managing director of Automotive Engineering and Repair. “As advertised, tested TOP TIER gasolines kept engines remarkably cleaner than other fuels we tested.” Link to Article

“When it comes to selecting a gasoline, automakers got it right – TOP TIER gasoline performs best,” continued Nielsen. “By selecting a quality gasoline, drivers can minimize engine deposits, increase vehicle performance and improve fuel economy.”

I've been using only Top-Tier gas for the last 10+ years and it's generally within few cents of the cheaper non-branded gas.

I wonder what Costco uses?  They always talk about the benefits of their detergent gasoline.  Not sure if they just buy based on cost or do they have deals with a brand of gas? 

I looked for result in the report but I did not find the brands they tested. 

It is listed here - so you should be good.

Costco also lists their gasoline as Top Tier on their website.

It is forty cents a gallon more expensive here in Indiana.

We are talking about Top-Tier gas not premium gas vs regular gas.  Look on Gasbuddy.com, select the Map display and then select to display TOP-TIER stations only.  

Currently, near me (within 2 miles) Top-Tier Mobil is $1.99 (regular) and $2.45 (premium) and non branded is $1.97 (regular) and $2.39 (premium). The leak and shutdown of the Colonial Pipeline has caused about a $0.15 per gallon increase in Eastern TN gas prices since mid last week.  Supposedly tomorrow, fuel will start flowing again in the pipeline.  We'll see how long it takes stations to lower prices $0.15. :)

Edited by Plus 3 Golfer