Hybrid vs Hybrid Energi

Flavioguy

Newbie here.  I'm considering purchasing a 2017 C-Max Hybrid.  My dilemma is should I get the straight hybrid or hybrid energi.

I'm leaning more towards the Energi model because I live in a small town (10K pop) and nothing is far away.  This means that the car rarely reaches normal operating temps especially in the winter.  I think the Energi model would work best in this scenario.   Thoughts?

I've noticed a few new Energi models and lots of barely used 2017 models.  The depreciation on these cars seems pretty dramatic!!  Was 2017 the last model year?

We currently drive a 2012 Kia Soul that has been an excellent vehicle but on long drives it's quite tiring.  I believe the C-Max would serve us better in that mode.

Before you make a decision, be sure you understand how you need to operate the Energi to mitigate the degradation of the high voltage battery. In addition, you’ll want to know how much the HVB has already degraded by fully charging it and drive it in EV mode until It kicks into hybrid operational mode and read the kWh of energy depleted from the HVB. This is the EV usable kWh of the HVB which when new is around 5.5 - 5.6 kWh. Go to the C-Max Energi forum and read.

The issue with the Energi in cold weather, especially if the HVB has significantly degraded, is your usable EV range may approach single digit miles at higher speeds, the engine may need to start anyways just like the hybrid would, and you may freeze your butt off when turning off the electric heat to conserve energy in the HVB. :)

Newbie here.  I'm considering purchasing a 2017 C-Max Hybrid.  My dilemma is should I get the straight hybrid or hybrid energi.

I'm leaning more towards the Energi model because I live in a small town (10K pop) and nothing is far away.  This means that the car rarely reaches normal operating temps especially in the winter.  I think the Energi model would work best in this scenario.   Thoughts?