Frustrated and disappointed

Mayday jay

I have been driving my new Cmax sel since December 31. I have put almost 800 miles on it and have yet to see better than 35mpg. Not much better than my 2009 Toyota Venza. (32mpg average)I feel cheated and lured in by misleading claims. I only bought this vehicle because I am a hospice nurse and I drive most of the day, sometimes up to 260 miles a day, so fuel economy makes or breaks me. If I would have know I would have had to take a course just to learn how to get the mileage it advertised I would have by passed it all together. I didn't purchase it for its looks or because it was fun to drive! If I told my patients I was giving them 4 mg of morphine and I only gave them 2mg I would lose my license and my job, more importantly , their trust, like Ford just lost mine. I live in Florida so it's mostly flat and doesn't get too cold so these are a non issue as far as driving conditions and temperatures.

35MPG is not very good at all for Florida driving.  It is much cooler with hills here and I drive with a lead foot and you can see my numbers below.  If you are really getting 35MPG with normal driving around Florida, you might want to take the car in to get it checked out.  On the other hand, if you had a Venza that averaged 32MPG, you might want to pay a large sum to get it back!  The 2009 Venza had a EPA 21MPG combined!  Toyota might pay a hefty sum to use that Venza to do some marketing!