Adding a second battery to my cmax

WhiteKnight

I am new to hybrid cars and to my cmax (2015) so if this question has an obvious answer forgive me.

What I want to do is attach a second 12V battery to my cmax (not replace one, have two batteries). Since the hybrid doesn't have a conventional alternator I can't use a typical two battery set-up that conventional cars can use. So what I thought about doing was using a B2B charger (such as one linked to below) to charge the auxiliary battery.

https://www.sterling-power-usa.com/SterlingPower12volt-12volt-30ampbatterytobatterycharger.aspx

This would mean, however, that the puny 12V battery would now be regulating the voltage of not only the hybrid battery but the 12v auxiliary battery too. To visualize:

Hybrid battery<---cmax12v battery---->12v auxiliary battery.

Can the cmax 12V battery manage that safely without messing up the hybrid battery or the car's electronics?

Why? You've got 1.5KVA already, perhaps it already meets your needs. 

Frank

Why? Prudence. In theory the hybrid battery meets needs in terms of capacity but probably not in fact.

I have several power accessories that pull between 900-1000 watts each. I only run them for short bursts of time (4-5 minutes) 1-3 times a day. That power draw is much too big for the built-in 150W plug so that would mean some type of direct connection to the hybrid battery--for a newbie like me, probably not a great idea. Also, I don't know what effect that level of power draw would have on the longevity of the hybrid battery.  Seems like a bad idea, but maybe I am wrong.

So that is why I want a second battery, to protect the hybrid battery from the high power draw of my accessories. If I draw to much power (say, by forgetting to turn one off) I've only killed a $200 item rather than a $3000 item.