A discussion of aerodynamics and the C-Max

Recumpence

Hey Guys,

This thread (as titled) is a discussion of the basics of aerodynamics and how they relate to our beloved Mighty-Max.

My apologies to anyone reading this who is an engineer trying to read my jibberish.   :)

Disclaimer (you have to have a disclaimer, you know);

I am not an aerodynamic engineer. The principals I am sharing with you were gleaned from years of RC helicopter experience, top speed RC car building (120mph is my highest speed attained), years of recumbent E-bike manufacturing, and research into hypermiling over the last couple years. Some of the terms I use may be incorrect or incorrectly applied. But, I will do my best to communicate my thoughts as clearly as possible.

Here are some general principals. Later I will apply these to the C-Max and point out some highlights of the car's design and some "Problems" with the design that can be improved upon. Bear in mind, this car was not originally designed as an efficient hybrid. It was designed in Europe as a minivan/people mover with a standard gas engine or diesel, not a hybrid. So, Ford was not looking at absolute perfection in the aero department. This is what leads me to the "Problems" with the C-Max's aerodynamics. I will discuss the good points of the design as well.

Here are the general principals;

#1 Drag is your enemy. Generating airflow around a moving body is not necessarily a bad thing, but drag is very bad.

#2 Smooth (laminar) airflow is ideal. Turbulence is not as good as laminar flow. But, a certain amount of turbulence can be a good thing (I will discuss this later). The Vortex is your enemy. It is far better to generate turbulence than vortices. This is an important principal I will discuss shortly.